History of the Institute

The Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg was the first public, German–language university in Switzerland, Austria and Germany where the Faculty of Medicine consisted not only of physicians but where therapists and nursing scientists were given an equal chance to research, teach, study, do their doctorate, habilitate and do their practical work.    

 

Core competence are evidence-based interventions for self-determined participation as the aim of nursing care and therapy. 

 

In 1988 the faculty founded a “medical education” course of study, which initially trained vocational school teachers for the southern part of the GDR.  After 1990 this was extended to include all 16 federal states of Germany. This forerunner study course did not conduct any published research, not even in the main areas of nursing and therapeutic practice.  The faculty had no doctoral regulations for its graduates. In 1996, it launched a course of studies in Nursing Science; in 1999, the faculty and the Senate of the University founded the Institute of Health and Nursing Sciences, in which, in addition to the nursing professions, physiotherapists and occupational therapists, speech therapists, diet assistants, midwives and diagnostic-technical professions also study, do their doctorates and habilitate, combining a degree course with vocational training programmes.  

 

As early as 1998, the Institute became the headquarters of the German Center for Evidence-based Nursing "sapere aude" in the international network of these centers, in 2003 it was the headquarters of the nursing research association "Evidence-based care for the chronically ill and those in need of care in difficult communicative situations" (which comprises 14 universities from Berlin to Freiburg and Munich, and since 2004 it has been the headquarters of the division spokesperson for the "Social Sector" division of the DFG Collaborative Research Centre 580.  

 

In 2007, when the German Council of Healthcare Experts published its recommendations for multi-professional teams in the healthcare sector, Halle already complied with them in many important respects. Every year 48 students are enrolled in the Bachelor's programme and 25 students in the Master's programme. The institute is supported by 25 scientists, including 2 professorships. With these courses of study Halle is following on from the first university course in nursing science founded in Leipzig in 1913, which had not survived the First World War and then National Socialism.

On the 8th of June 1913 – exactly one hundred years ago – the study plan and examination regulations for “senior nurses, mother superiors and social welfare nurses” at the “Women’s University of Leipzig” were approved in cooperation with the Faculties of Medicine, Philosophy and probably also of Law at the University of Leipzig. The aim of the study plan is described as training nurses “who carry out their nursing duties with full understanding and who are able to comprehend the wide correlations in the larger fields of activity in which they will be working in the future.”

The Institute for Health and Nursing Sciences in the Faculty of Medicine at the University Halle-Wittenberg follows this tradition and sees it as their duty to continue these study courses, which had not survived the National Socialist era, probably due to the Jewish background of Hinrichsen, its sponsor, who was murdered in the Auschwitz KZ in 1942.

At the beginning of the second century of Health and Nursing Sciences at universities in the heart of Germany, the Symposium wishes not only to remember the first century but also to discuss the perspectives at the beginning the second century.

Welcoming speeches

  • Speech by a member of the State Government
  • Prof. Dr. Beate A. Schücking, Rector of the University of Leipzig
  • Prof. Dr. Theda Borde, Rector of the Alice-Salomon-University Berlin
  • Dr. Jürgen Gohde, Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the German Society for the Aged (Deutsche Altershilfe (KDA)), Cologne

100 years after 08.06.1913: Study courses in nursing and therapy at universities

The Science Council presents for discussion its recommendations on higher education qualifications for the healthcare system.

  • Dr. Beatrix Schwörer, head of the Science Council’s Department of Medicine  
    • Recommendations on higher education qualifications for the healthcare system
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Günter Ollenschläger, head of the  Medical Center for Quality in Medicine, a joint institution of the German Medical Association and the German Association of Statutory Health Insurance Physicians
    • 100 years of courses in nursing and healthcare at universities in the heart of Germany - a Statement

Not in the curriculum 100 years ago: Nursing and Therapy Sciences - Independent Sciences?

Moderation: Prof. Dr. Gabriele Meyer

  • Prof. Dr. Johann Behrens: Introductory Theses
  • Prof. Dr. Gerd Antes, Director of the German Cochrane Center
  • Prof. Dr. Annegret Horbach, University of Applied Sciences, Frankfurt am Main

Plenardiskussion

Historical recollections and career paths

  • Ms. Ingrid Horn, graduated nurse and retired nursing director of the University Clinic Halle
  •  Ms. Jana Luntz, graduated nursing scientist and nursing director of the University Clinic Tübingen
  • Ms. Christiane Becker, graduated nursing scientist, Nursing Research and Development at the University Clinic Halle

Evaluation of the PhD Programme

"Participation as the aim of nursing and therapy"

  • Dr. Christiane Luderer

Historisches

Die Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg war die erste öffentliche deutschsprachige Universität der Schweiz, Österreichs und Deutschlands, in deren Medizinischer Fakultät neben Ärztinnen und Ärztenen auch therapeutische und Pflegewissenschaftlerinnen und Pflegewissenschaftler gleichberechtigt forschen, lehren, studieren, promovieren, habilitieren und praktizieren.  

Kernkompetenz sind evidence-basierte Interventionen zu selbstbestimmter Partzipation als Ziel von Pflege und Therapie.  

1988 hatte die Fakultät einen "medizinpädagogischen" Studiengang gegründet, der zunächst für den Süden der DDR, nach 1990 für alle 16 Bundesländer Berufsfachschullehrerinnen und -lehrer ausbildete. Dieser Vorläuferstudiengang betrieb keine publizierte Forschung, auch nicht zu den Kernbereichen pflegerischen und therapeutischen Handelns. Für seine Absolventen hatte die Fakultät keine Promotionsordnung. 1996 eröffnete die Fakultät den Studiengang Pflegewissenschaft, 1999 gründeten Fakultät und Senat der Universität das Institut für Gesundheits- und Pflegewissenschaft, in dem neben den Pflegeberufen auch Physio- und Ergotherapeutinnen und -therapeuten, Logopädinnen und Logopäden, Diätassistentinnen und -assistenten, Hebammen und diagnostisch-technische Berufe ausbildungsintegrierend studieren, promovieren und habilitieren.  

Das Institut wurde bereits 1998 Sitz des German Centers for Evidence-based Nursing "sapere aude" im internationalen Netzwerk dieser Zentren, 2003 Sitz des Pflegeforschungsverbundes "Evidence-basierte Pflege chronisch Kranker und Pflegebedürftiger in kommunikativ schwierigen Situationen" (der von Berlin bis Freiburg und München 14 Hochschulen umfasst) und seit 2004 ist es Sitz des Bereichssprechers des Bereichs "Sozialer Sektor" des DFG-Sonderforschungsbereichs 580. 

Als der Sachverständigenrat im Gesundheitswesen 2007 seine Empfehlungen zum multiprofessionellem Team im Gesundheitswesen veröffentlichte, entsprach Halle dem bereits in wesentlichen Punkten. In den Bachelor-Studiengang werden jedes Jahr 48 Studierende, in den Master-Studiengang 25 Studierende immatrikuliert. 25 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, darunter 2 Professuren, tragen das Institut. 

Mit diesen Studiengängen knüpft Halle an den 1913 in Leipzig gegründeten ersten pflegewissenschaftlichen Universitätsstudiengang an, der den Weltkrieg und dann den Nationalsozialismus nicht überstanden hatte.

Symposium 100 Jahre Pflege- und Gesundheitsstudiengänge an Universitäten in der Mitte Deutschlands 1913 - 2013

Auf die Stunde genau vor 100 Jahren wurden am 8. Juni 1913 der Studienplan und die Prüfungsordnung für „Oberschwestern, Oberinnen und Schwestern im sozialen Dienst“ von der "Hochschule für Frauen zu Leipzig“ in Zusammenarbeit mit der Medizinischen, der Philosophischen und wohl auch der Juristischen Fakultät der Universität Leipzig verabschiedet. Der Studienplan benennt als das Ziel der Bildung der Krankenpflegeschwestern, „die Krankenpflege mit vollem Verständnis ausführen und in ihrem zukünftigen größeren Wirkungskreise mit Verständnis für die großen Zusammenhänge arbeiten zu können“.

Das Institut für Gesundheits- und Pflegewissenschaft der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Halle-Wittenberg sieht sich in dieser Tradition und in der Pflicht als Fortsetzung dieses Studiengangs, der die Zeit des Nationalsozialismus wohl auch aufgrund der jüdischen Herkunft seines Sponsors Hinrichsen, ermordet 1942 im KZ Auschwitz, nicht überstand.

Das Symposium möchte mit Beginn des zweiten Jahrhunderts der Pflege- und Gesundheitswissen- schaften an Universitäten in der Mitte Deutschlands nicht nur das erste Jahrhundert bedenken, sondern auch Perspektiven für das beginnende zweite Jahrhundert erörtern.

Grußworte

  • Grußwort der Landesregierung
  • Frau Prof. Dr. Beate A. Schücking, Rektorin der Universität Leipzig
  • Prof. Dr. Theda Borde, Rektorin der Alice-Salomon-Hochschule Berlin
  • Herr Dr. Jürgen Gohde, Vorstandsvorsitzender des Kuratoriums Deutsche Altershilfe (KDA) Köln

100 Jahre nach dem 08.06.1913: Pflege- und Therapiestudiengänge an Universitäten

Der Wissenschaftsrat stellt seine Empfehlungen zu hochschulischen Qualifikationen für das Gesundheitswesen zur Diskussion.

Diskussionsbeiträge und Fragen an die Leiterin der Abteilung Medizin des Wissenschaftsrates und ihre Antworten finden Sie hier

  • Dr. Beatrix Schwörer, Leiterin Abteilung Medizin des Wissenschaftsrates
    • Empfehlungen zu hochschulischen Qualifikationen für das Gesundheitswesen
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Günter Ollenschläger, Leiter des Ärztlichen Zentrums für Qualität in der Medizin Gemeinsame Einrichtung der Bundesärztekammer und der Kassenärztlichen Bundesvereinigung
    • 100 Jahre Pflege- und Gesundheitsstudiengänge an Universitäten in der Mitte Deutschlands – ein Statement
       

Vor 100 Jahren nicht im Curriculum: Pflege- und Therapiewissenschaften - eigenständige Wissenschaften?

Moderation: Prof. Dr. Gabriele Meyer

  • Prof. Dr. Johann Behrens: Einführende Thesen
  • Prof. Dr. Gerd Antes, Direktor des Deutschen Cochrane Zentrums
  • Prof. Dr. Annegret Horbach, Fachhochschule Frankfurt a. M.

Plenardiskussion: Historische Rückblicke und Berufswege

  • Dipl.-Krankenschwester Ingrid Horn, Pflegedirektorin i. R. des Universitätsklinikums Halle
  • Dipl.-PGW Jana Luntz, Pflegedirektorin am Universitätsklinikum Tübingen
  • Dipl.-PGW Christiane Becker, Pflegeforschung und Entwicklung am Universitätsklinikum Halle

Evaluation des Promotionsstudiengangs "Partizipation als Ziel von Pflege und Therapie" von Dr. Christiane Luderer